Hey, look! Cancer!

Chads_cancer

No, this isn’t a photo from a NASA space probe showing some strangealien landscape. What you are looking at is a tiny bit of my cancer.

It’s a greatly magnified cross-section of tissue from my stomach,now estranged from me nearly four months. The big rounded ridge (upper left-centre)is “abnormal” tissue. Under greater magnification, the tiny black specks justunder the surface of the ridge would look signet-cell rings, or so says my geneticcounsellor at Mount Sinai Hospital.

Put more plainly, it’s visual proof that having my stomachremoved when I did was a really frickin’ good idea.

As for why it’s been so long between posts, the reason issimply that I have little to report. Aside from my weird eating schedule andoccasional problem with things getting stuck in my oesophagus, life is back tonormal. I’m eating enough to halt my weight loss, working as much as I ever did(hence, less time for hobby blogs like this), hanging out with my peeps, andeven playing golf. In fact, I feel about as healthy as I ever have.

I have another doctor’s appointment scheduled about a monthfrom now at which I will petition for an endoscopy. As I’ve previously noted,there’s a decent chance that my throat issue could simply be a stricture, whichhas the potential to be fixed via a very quick procedure that can be doneduring the endoscopy. If that turns out to be the case, I’ll be completelysatisfied with my recovery. (The flapjack-sized patch of numbness on my belly is pretty weird, but easy to cope with.)

I’ll be sure to post an update here once the throat scope isscheduled. Until then, I hope everyone enjoys the summer. Having wondered not that long ago whether I would see another thunderstorm, I’m definitelyappreciating the warm weather in a whole new way.

PS – Almost forgot… Thanks to a couple of CCAC visits, I'm now qualified to inject vitamin B12 into my abdomen! My daughter thinks it's pretty cool. I do too.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Hey, look! Cancer!

  1. Hey Chad, one more celebration of TG..no more cancer! Really good news. Did you have the stricture and resolution? Or was it something else? I think my son might have been the fellow TG’er who you spoke of. He continues to do well and ran a 10K last weekend. Hope you’re doing equally well.

  2. Michael says:

    Hi Chad – I’m a 32 year old from Australia and had a total gastrectomy in September ’08 after by GP discovered I was bleeding internally from somewhere and follow up tests showed some pretty nasty tumours. Luckily, like you, they were stage 1a (although very large! 9cm by 12cm the largest of them) so I didn’t have to go through chemo or anything after the operation. I was pretty skinny to begin with so struggled a lot with weight. A lot of my struggles mirror yours, particularly with regards to getting in calories and feeling ill. 18 months on and I still get sick quite often after eating – pretty much anything greasy or too sweet and sometimes it just comes on after eating something that would normally be ok. It took me a good 3 months before I could start getting back to work and more like 5 before I was full time again. I just had a checkup and i’m still all clear down there so very happy my GP threw me in hospital when he did.I would just like to say thanks for taking the time to write this up – I wish I had done something similar although my nausea also extended to sickness from watching too much TV or a computer screen for a couple of months (way to waste my time off work – and considering i’m also a nerd it made my indoor life quite boring!). Great to here you’re doing well – you had one other thing in common with me it seems – a very supportive wife and family.

Leave a Reply

